The New CMP
Considering getting a CMP designation? Read more to learn about it from a supplier and planner perspective.
Read More

MPI Ottawa Upcoming Events
Check out all the exciting events taking place in 2019
Learn More



Prix Prestige Awards Gala

15 May, 2019
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Casino & Hilton Lac-Leamy
3 Boulevard du Casino
Gatineau, QC
MPI Ottawa Chapter

Join us in #CelebratingExellence in our chapter!

The MPI Ottawa Prix Prestige Awards are designed to recognize excellence in active chapter members for their commitment, service  and involvement in the chapter or industry and community at large. The annual awards gala will take place on May 15th at the Hilton Lac-Leamy and nominations will be open from January 21st to March 22nd.

MPI Ottawa’s Prix Prestige Awards reflect the best of the best in the meetings industry and are awarded each year under the following categories: Planner of the Year, Supplier of the Year, Mentor of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Student of the Year, and Rising Star. There are also two special categories bestowed at the discretion of the President: Honourary Member, and the President’s Award.

For a number of years, the MPI Ottawa Chapter has recognized longstanding retired members of the chapter and community leaders who have made significant contributions to the MPI Ottawa Chapter or to the meetings, tourism or hospitality industry by awarding them Honourary Memberships in the Chapter. Although nominations are welcomed from the membership, the final decision resides with the President.

The President’s Award is bestowed to an individual who has made a unique and outstanding contribution to our Chapter. This award is not necessarily given out annually, but rather as a deserving individual is deemed worthy by the President.

2019 Event

5:00 PM – 6:00 PM
Registration & Cocktail Reception
Casino Lac-Leamy’s Theatre’s foyer (please enter via the casino’s main entrance, complimentary coat check available)

6:15 PM – 7:30PM
Awards Ceremony
Casino Lac-Leamy’s Theatre

7:30 PM – 10:30 PM
Mozart ballroom - Hilton Lac-Leamy

We will be handing out a $15 casino voucher – courtesy of Casino Lac-Leamy.

Hilton Lac Leamy will be offering a special rate for guests of the MPI Ottawa Prix Prestige Gala.
For more information:
Click HERE for English
Click HERE for French.

Limited seating!  Tickets are on sale until May 9th, 2019 or until seats are sold out.

Cost   Early-Bird (until April 19, 2019)   Regular (as of April 20, 2019)
Members   $122.00   $137.00
Non-Members   $157.00   $157.00
Students   $92.00   $102.00
Corporate Table of 10*   $1370.00   $1520.00
*Benefits of a Corporate Table of 10 include:
Guaranteed seating for 10
Reserved table sign with your organization name and logo
On-screen recognition of your organization as a Corporate Table host


Congratulations to all the following nominees who have been nominated for the 2019 Prix Prestige Awards Gala 

Planner of the Year

  • Heather Lockwood, CMP, HPL Meetings and Events
  • Erin Bellwood, GOHBA
  • Riccarda Galioto, Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease (AMMI) Canada
  • Katherine Craig, The War Amps
  • Katie Lemenchick, CMP, Mental Health Commission of Canada

Mentor of the Year

  • Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment
  • Sandy Ouellette, Algonquin College
  • Andrew Horsfield, Lord Elgin Hotel
  • Heather Lockwood, CMP, HPL Meetings and Events
  • Karen Wright, Algonquin College
  • Kraig-Paul Proulx, The Centurion Conference & Event Center
  • Dora Dalietos, Vis-a-Vis Events Inc.

Rising Star

  • Courtney Jones, CMP, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • Kalli Foster, Canadian Bar Association
  • Gabrielle Whittaker, WPICC, Brookstreet Hotel
  • David Manias, Residence Inn by Marriott and The Metcalfe Hotel
  • Danielle Tomarelli, CERIC

Student of the Year

  • Emily Wong, Signatures Restaurant at Le Cordon Bleu
  • Brittany Cosgrove, Algonquin College Student
  • Alexandra Melbourne, Canadian Bureau for International Education

Supplier of the Year

  • Violeta Ugarte, Meetings + Conventions Calgary
  • Ryan Young, Brookstreet Hotel
  • Anthony Vasconcelos, Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa
  • Marc Forgette, Tourism London
  • Brian Henry, Quality Entertainment
  • Rebecca Trafford, Chic & Swell
  • Annie Leveillee, Outaouais Tourism
  • Robin Andrew, Unposed Photography

Volunteer of the Year

  • Meg LaPlante, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • Andrew Horsfield, Lord Elgin Hotel
  • Gabrielle Whittaker, WPICC, Brookstreet Hotel
  • Angelita Aboukassam, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • Karen Norris, CMP, Canadian Association of General Surgeons
  • Katherine Craig, The War Amps
  • Ryan Young, Brookstreet Hotel
  • Jessica Clifford, Canadian Nuclear Association
  • Erin Bellwood, GOHBA
  • Annie Leveillee, Outaouais Tourism
  • Maryse Morin, Hilton Lac Leamy
  • Daniela Stucki, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts

Committee Members

Sandy Ouellette - Algonquin College (Director)
Rebecca Trafford - Chic & Swell (Committee Chair)
Kelly Britnell - Tourism Kingston
Erin Bellwood - Greater Ottawa Home Builders Assocations
Maryse Morin - Hilton Lac Leamy
Alison Peverley
Paige Prothero - Algonquin College
Kraig Paul Proulx - Centurion Conference & Events Center
Karen Wright - Algonquin College

    Our Partners

    Hilton Lac Leamy



    Quebec City



Our Registration Partner
De systems

Venue Details


Connect with Us

Chapter Advertisement



Chapter Advertisement